Interdependence


“Be Independent!” That is something I have heard my whole life and never truly knew what it meant, until 2007. That’s when I participated in a teleprogram for young adults with Spina Bifida for nine weeks.  I learned so much about life in general though that experience, including that you can still be “Independent” while getting help with certain everyday tasks. It’s what is known to some as being “Interdependent”. That is, knowing when you need help, where you need it, and how to get it.  My whole life, I’ve been told by society that I have to do things for myself.  But what they didn’t tell me is, it’s OK to need help sometimes.

Leave a Reply

